

# 2025 CONSTITUTIONAL LAW CONFERENCE PROGRAM FOR FRIDAY 7 FEBRUARY 2025

Supported by the Australian Association of Constitutional Law & Federation Press

We invite you to register for the 2025 Constitutional Law Conference, held in a hybrid format on Friday 7 February 2025 and organised by the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the Faculty of Law and Justice, UNSW, with the support of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law and Federation Press.

The conference will feature discussions of important developments in the High Court, Federal Court and state courts and provide an overview of the key public law debates in 2024. The conference will include papers on the constitutional separation of powers, migration, native title, and the role of government lawyers in Australian public law, among other topics.



The conference will be held in hybrid format, with attendees able to register in person (100 pax capacity) or online via Zoom. The in-person element of the conference will be held at the offices of Gilbert + Tobin in Barangaroo, Sydney. There will be multiple opportunities for informal interaction throughout the day. A cocktail party will be hosted for those attending in person at Gilbert + Tobin. Zoom details will be forwarded to online attendees closer to the date.

Professor Rosalind Dixon
Director Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law

## 2025 CONSTITUTIONAL LAW CONFERENCE

## PROGRAM FOR FRIDAY 7 FEBRUARY 2025

Supported by the Australian Association of Constitutional Law & Federation Press

8.45am	ZOOM LINK OPEN	
9.00am	WELCOME & WELCOME TO COUNTRY	
9.15am	SESSION ONE The High Court on Constitutional Law in	Dr Anne Carter, University of Adelaide – The Constitution and the 2024 Term
	the 2024 Term	Commentator: Mr Daniel Reynolds, NSW Bar
		Chair: Justice Robert Beech-Jones, High Court of Australia
10.30am	MORNING TEA BREAK	
11.00am	SESSION TWO The State and Federal	Justice Angus Stewart, Federal Court of Australia
	Courts on Constitutional Law in the 2024 Term	Chair: Dr Elisabeth Perham, UNSW
12.15pm	LUNCH BREAK	
12.45pm	SESSION THREE Commonwealth Liability, Judicial	Ms Kateena O'Gorman SC, Victorian Bar – Yunupingu v The Commonwealth
	Immunity, Parliamentary Privilege	Mr Derek Wong, NSW Bar – <i>Vasta</i> & Judicial Immunity
		A/Professor Ryan Goss, ANU – Casimaty & Parliamentary Privilege
		Chair: A/Professor Sean Brennan, UNSW
2.15pm	COFFEE/STRETCHING BREAK	

2.30pm	SESSION FOUR Chapter III, the Executive and the Constitution	Dr Lynsey Blayden, University of Sydney – ASF17 v Commonwealth
		Professor James Stellios, ANU – YBFZ v Commonwealth
		Chair: Justice Kristina Stern, NSW Court of Appeal
3.30pm	AFTERNOON TEA BREAK AND HIGH COURT <i>TRIVIA</i> !	
4.00pm	SESSION FIVE The Role of	Professor Gabrielle Appleby, UNSW
	Government Lawyers (in the 2024 Term)	Mr Andrew Buckland, Australian Government Solicitor
		Mr Mike Wait SC, Solicitor-General of South Australia
		Chair: Professor Rosalind Dixon, UNSW
5.30pm	CONFERENCE CLOS	SE
5.30pm - 6.30pm	CONFERENCE DRIN	IKS

#### **COST AND REGISTRATION**

IN-PERSON - Full conference: \$275 (100-person capacity; first come, first served) ONLINE - Full conference: \$220 | Individual sessions: \$55 each | Organisation ticket: \$1100

Academics will receive a 50% discount when using code ACADEMIC50 at checkout. If you are experiencing financial hardship and are unable to purchase a ticket please contact

gtcentre@unsw.edu.au

#### **MORE INFORMATION**

For more information head to the registration page: https://conlawconference2025.eventbrite.com.au

Alternatively, check out the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law website:

http://www.gtcentre.unsw.edu.au